What is it?

Sanofi is committed to collaborating with partners to advance cutting-edge discoveries into transformative medicines that improve patient lives. The Sanofi Innovation Awards (iAwards) program, created in 2015, was designed to do just that. More than 26 top academic and medical centers in North America participate in this program to advance innovations in target identification and translational science into first-in-class therapeutic solutions.

Sanofi iAwards is a one-year program consisting of:

  • Seed funding of $125.000 USD
  • Dedicated Sanofi Project Champion and resources (subject matter experts)
  • A steppingstone to further collaboration

Who are we looking for?

Principal investigators from academic partner institutions developing cutting-edge therapeutic solutions in the following areas: 

  • Immuno- and molecular-oncology
  • Immunology and inflammatory diseases 
  • Rare and neurological diseases 
  • Genomic medicine 
  • Precision medicine 
  • New therapeutic modalities

A fast process to select and start projects in less than 8 months:

Get ready for our next call to be launched in early 2023

iAward recipients for the 2022 cycle:

  • Changning Wang, Mass General Hospital
  • Francesca Bartolini, Columbia University 
  • Nikolas Patsoukis, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 
  • Casey Maguire, Mass General Hospital 
  • Eric Smith, Dana Farber Cancer Institute
  • Joe Zhou, Weill Cornell Medicine 
  • Jonathan Schneck, Johns Hopkins Medicine 
  • Daniel Tenen, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 
  • Rohit Chandwani, Weill Cornell Medicine

For a complete list of past and current recipients, click here.

iAward Program Partners:

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 
  • Boston Children’s Hospital 
  • Brigham and Woman’s Hospital 
  • California Institute of Technology 
  • Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center 
  • Columbia University 
  • Dana Farber Cancer Institute 
  • Harvard University 
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Massachusetts General Hospital 
  • MD Andersons Cancer Center 
  • New York University 
  • Northeastern University 
  • Sinai Health System 
  • Stanford Medicine 
  • Sunnybrook Research Institute 
  • Ohio State University 
  • Tufts University
  • University of California Los Angeles Technology Development Group 
  • University of California San Francisco 
  • University Health Network 
  • University of Florida 
  • University of Massachusetts Medical School 
  • University of Pennsylvania 
  • Vanderbilt University 
  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center 
  • Weill Cornell Medicine

For more information about the North America iAwards, contact SRI-NA@sanofi.com

North America page and other partnering initiatives