Governance Banner

Composition of the Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, appointed by the shareholders, is composed of 16 members, two of whom are employee representatives. 11 directors are independent. Members of our Board of Directors are appointed for a maximum term of four years; reappointment of Directors is done on a rotation basis.

The Board of Directors defines the strategic business guidelines and directions of the Company, and supervises their implementation. Subject to the powers expressly attributed to the Shareholders’ General Meeting, and within the scope of the company’s corporate purpose, the Board of Directors’ powers cover all issues relating to the proper management of the company and through its decisions the Board determines all matters falling within its authority.

Further information in our Board Charter

Board diversity

Each year, the Board of Directors conducts a review to ensure that there is an appropriate balance in its composition. In particular, the Board seeks to ensure gender balance and a broad diversity of backgrounds and countries of origin, international experience, reflecting Sanofi’s status as a diversified global business.

As of May 2019, women represent 43% of members. 6 Directors are non-French.

Above all, the Board seeks directors who show independence of mind and who are competent, dedicated and committed.

Independence of board members

Under the terms of the AFEP-MEDEF corporate governance code of listed corporations, a Director is independent when he or she has no relation of any kind whatsoever with the company, its group or its management that may interfere with his or her freedom of judgement.

As of May 2019, 79% of members are independent.

Composition of the Board of Directors

To view all our images in high resolution, visit our Media Image Library on Flickr

As of October 2019, the Board of Directors comprises the following members:

Serge Weinberg*

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Director’s term ends: 2023

Paul Hudson

Paul Hudson

Chief Executive Officer

Director’s term ends: 2022

Laurent Attal

Laurent Attal

Director’s term ends: 2020

Emmanuel Babeau

Emmanuel Babeau*

Director’s term ends: 2022
Christophe Babule

Christophe Babule

Director’s term ends: 2022
Bernard Charlès

Bernard Charlès*

Director’s term ends: 2021
Claudie Haigneré

Claudie Haigneré*

Director’s term ends: 2020
Patrick Kron

Patrick Kron*

Director’s term ends: 2022

Fabienne Lecorvaisier*

Director’s term ends: 2021
Melanie Lee

Melanie Lee*

Director’s term ends: 2021
Visual by default

Suet-Fern Lee*

Director’s term ends: 2023
Carole Piwnica

Carole Piwnica*

Director’s term ends: 2020
Diane Souza

Diane Souza*

Director’s term ends: 2020
Thomas Südhof

Thomas Südhof*

Director’s term ends: 2020

* Independent Director

Directors representing employees

Marion Palme

Marion Palme

Director’s term ends: 2021
Christian Senectaire

Christian Senectaire

Director’s term ends: 2021

Summary table

Director Age Nationality First appointed Term expires Seniority AC AGC CC SC SciC
Serge Weinberg, Chairman of the Board(a) 68 French December 2009 2023 AGM 9 C C
Paul hudson, Chief Executive Officer 51 British September 2019 2022 AGM 0  
Laurent Attal 61 French May 2012 2020 AGM 7
Emmanuel Babeau(a) 52 French May 2018 2022 AGM 1
Christophe Babule 53 French February 2019 2022 AGM 0
Bernard Charlès(a) 62 French May 2017 2021 AGM 2
Claudie Haigneré(a) 61 French May 2008 2020 AGM 10
Patrick Kron(a) 65 French May 2014 2022 AGM 5 C
Fabienne Lecorvaisier(a) 56 French May 2013 2021 AGM 6 C
Melanie Lee(a) 60 British May 2017 2021 AGM 2
Suet-Fern Lee(a) 60 Singaporean May 2011 2023 AGM 8
Marion Palme(b) 36 German May 2017 2021 AGM 2
Carole Piwnica(a) 61 Belgian December 2010 2020 AGM 8
Christian Senectaire(b) 54 French May 2017 2021 AGM 2
Diane Souza(a) 66 American May 2016 2020 AGM 3
Thomas C. Südhof(a) 63 German/American May 2016 2020 AGM 3 C

AC: Audit Committee
AGC: Appointments and Governance Committee
CC: Compensation Committee
SC: Strategy Committee
SciC: Scientific Committee
C: Chairman/Chairwoman
(a) Independent director
(b) Director representing employees

This website uses cookies to track its audience and improve its content. By continuing to browse this website, you agree to the use of such cookies.

Click here for more information on cookies